Facts About India

Facts About India, Indian Facts, Everything About India

Prime Minister of India

Office of the Prime Minister of India, South Block, New Delhi

South Block, New Delhi
South Block, New Delhi

Powers of Prime Minister of India:-

  • Real excutive authority
  • He is the ex-officio Chairman of the Planning Commission, National Development Council, National Integration Council and Inter state Council
  • The President convenes and prorogues all sessions of Parliament in Consultation with him
  • Can recommend the dissolution of Lok Sabha before expiry
  • Appoints the council of ministers
  • Allocates portfolios. Can ask a minister to resign & can get him dismissed by President
  • Can recommend to the President to declare emergency on grounds of war, external aggression or armed rebellion
  • Advises President about President�s Rule in the State or emergency due to financial instability
  • Leader of the House

Official Website of Prime Minister of India

All Prime Minister of India and their Tenure

Jawahar Lal Nehru 15.08.1947 to 27.05.1964
Gulzari Lal Nanda 27.05.1964 to 09.06.1964
Lal Bahadur Shastri 09.06.1964 to 11.01.1966
Gulzai Lal Nanda 11.01.1966 to 24.01.1966
Indira Gandhi 24.01.1966 to 24.03.1977
Morarji Desai 24.03.1977 to 28.07.1979
Charan singh 28.07.1979 to 14.01.1980
Indira Gandhi 14.01.1980 to 31.10.1984
Rajiv Gandhi 31.10.1984 to 01.12.1989
V.P. Singh 01.12.1989 to 10.11.1990
Chandra Shekhar 10.11.1990 to 21.06.1991
P.V. Narsimha Rao 21.06.1991 to 16.05.1996
Atal Bihari Vajpayee 16.05.1996 to 01.06.1996
H.D. Deve Gowda 01.06.1996 to 21.04.1997
I.K. Gujral 21.04.1997 to 19.03.1998
Atal Bihari Vajpayee 19.03.1998 to 13.10.1999
Atal Bihari Vajpayee 13.10.1999 to 22.05.2004
Dr. Manmohan Singh 22.05.2004 to 26.-5.2014
Narendra Modi 26.05.2014 to Till-date

Last updated on 4 November 2014

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *