Facts About India

Facts About India, Indian Facts, Everything About India

Morley-Minto reforms

In 1905, a new Viceroy, Lord Minto arrived in India and shortly afterwards the Liberal Secretary of State, John Morley was appointed in London. Both came to the conclusion that India’s demand foreign increased share in government could no longer be denied. Together they worked out a scheme for the reform of the legislative councils. Passed by Parliament in 1909 the statue was known officially as the Indian councils act (1909) and popularly as the Morlye-Minto Reforms.

Morley-Minto reforms
Morley-Minto reforms
  • The number of members of the Legislative Council at the Centre increased from 16 to 60.
  • Increase in the number of members of the Provincial Legislature (50 in Bengal, Madras and Bombay and 30 in the rest of the provinces).
  • Categorisation of the members of the Legislative Councils (both at the Centre and Province’s) into four classes :
    1. Ex-offico members
    2. Nominated official members
    3. Nominated nonofficial members 4. Elected members
  • Introduction of system of separate electorate under which all Muslims who are grouped in separate consstituencies from which Muslims alone could be elected.
  • Majority of official members at the Centre; nonofficial at the provinces
  • Permission to Councilmembers to discuss budget, suggest amendments and even to vote on certain items
  • Nomination of two Indian story Council of the Secretary of State for Indian Affairs.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *