Facts About India

Facts About India, Indian Facts, Everything About India

Montagu-Chelmsford Reform

Montagu-Chelmsford Reform and Government of India Act, 1919: In 1918, Edwin Montagu, the Secretary of State, and Lord Chelmsford, the Viceroy, produced their scheme of constitutional reforms. These reforms, popularly known as Montagu-Chelmsford Reforms, led to the enactment of Government of India Act of 1919 Silent features of the act are as follows:

Morley-Minto reforms
Morley-Minto reforms
  • The Council of Secretary of State was to compromise 8-to-12 people, three of them Indian
  • Dyrachy System was introduced as the provincial level. Under this system, Subjects of Administration were divided into two groups; 1. Reserved subjects and 2. Transferred subjects. Reserved subjects were under the direct control of Governors, while transferred subjects were under ministers responsible to the legislature.
  • The Central Legislature was to consist of two houses: the Council of State or Up per House and the Legislative Assembly or Lowered House. Both the Houses had equal legislative powers.
  • Sikhs, Anglo-Indians, Christians and Europeans were also given the right to separate electorates.
  • Provincial legislatures were to be unicameral.
  • The legislature had virtually no control over the Governor Journal and is Executive Council
  • The right to vote was severly restricted
  • Part of the expenses of the office of the Secretary of State was to be met by the British government.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *