Facts About India

Facts About India, Indian Facts, Everything About India

Indian Navy

Brief History

The Indian Navy, by virtue of its capabilities, strategic positioning and robust presence in the Indian Ocean Region (IOR), has been a catalyst for peace, tranquility and stability in the IOR. It has been engaged other maritime nations, extending hand of friendship and co-operation.

On India attaining Independence, the Royal Indian Navy consisted of 32 ageing vessels suitable only for coastal patrol, along with 11,000 officers and men. The senior officers were drawn from the Royal Navy, with R Adm ITS Hall, CIE, being the first Post-independence Commander-in-Chief. The prefix ‘Royal’ was dropped on 26 January 1950 with India being constituted as a Republic. The first Commander-in-Chief of the Indian Navy was Adm Sir Edward Parry, KCB, who handed over to Adm Sir Mark Pizey, KBE, CB, DSO in 1951. Adm Pizey also became the first Chief of the Naval Staff in 1955, and was succeeded by V Adm SH Carlill, CB, DSO.

On 22 April 1958 V Adm RD Katari assumed office as the first Indian Chief of the Naval Staff.

Indian Navy is headed by Chief of Navel Staff with headquarters at New Delhi. He is assisted by Vice Chief of Naval Staff, Chief of Personnel, Chief of Material and Deputy Chief of Naval Staff. The Navy is organised into following commands:-

Indin Navy
Indin Navy
S.No. Command Headquarter
1 Eastern command Vishakhapatnam
2 Southern command Kochi
3 Western command Mumbai


  1. Navy
  2. Admiral
  3. Vice Admiral
  4. Read Admiral
  5. Commodore
  6. Captain
  7. Commander
  8. Lt Commander
  9. Lieutenant
  10. Sub-Lieutenant

The Indian Navy is divided into the following broad categories

  • Administration
  • Logistics and Material
  • Training
  • The Fleets
  • The Naval Aviation
  • and

  • The Submarine Arm.

Official Website of Indian Army

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *