Current time in New Delhi -

The Sikh Gurus



Don't have Friends..

Looking for Partner for Movies/Party/Weekend..


Guru Nank Dev Guru Nanak: Nanak was born in a Khatri family at Talwandi in the Lahore district in 1469. He spent his life preaching the gospel of tolerance. In order to put an end to the religious conflicts, he laid stress on moral virtues.

The Six Gurus
1 Guru Nanak (1469-1539): First Guru of Sikhs, Founder of Sikhism
2 Guru Angad (1504-1552): Compiled the biography of Guru Nanak Dev, known as Janam Sakhi; introduced Gurmukhi Script; 63 hymns of Guru Angad Dev included in Guru Granth Sikh.
3Guru Amar Das (1479-1574): He promoted inter-caste dining at his kitchen. Akbar granted villages to finance the scheme, out of which grew Amritsar
4Guru Guru Ram Das (1534-1581): Son-in-law of Guru Das; All subsequent Gurtis descended from Ram Das' family. The standard Sikh marriage ceremony known as Anand Karaj, four stanza hymn composed by Guru Ram Das.
5Guru Arjun Dev (1563-1606): Of Guru Run Task Died after torture in Mughal (Jhangir) detention for sheltering rebellious Mughal prince Khusrau, He constructed the famous Golden Temple at Amritsar and prepared a summary of Sikh teaching named Sukmani; compiled the Guru Granth Sahib in 1604; 2312 hymns from Guru Arjan Dev included in it.
6Guru Hargobind (1595-1644): Son Of Guru Arjun Dev; put on two swords-one signifying Miri (secular power) and other Piri (spiritual power); built the Akal Takht in 1608.
7Guru Har Rai (1630-1661): Son of Guru Hargobind. Supported Dara's claim in the wars of succession between Shah Jahan's sons
8 Guru Harkishan (1656-1664): Of Guru Har Rai; Gurudwara Bangla Sahib in New Delhi was constructed in his memory.
9 Guru Teg Bahadur (1621-1674): Son of Guru Harargobind; Gurudwara Rakab Ganj Sahib in New Delhi is where Guru body was cremated.
10 Guru Govind Singh (1666-1700): Executed on Mughal order: Son of Guru Teg Bahadur; Babtized the Sikhs and created Khalsa; instructed the Sikhs to keep five Ks, compiled the 1428 page Dasam Granth Sahib

blog comments powered by Disqus

footer for presidents of India page