Current time in New Delhi -

Royal Families of Deccan



Don't have Friends..

Looking for Partner for Movies/Party/Weekend..


The Eastern Chalukyas Eastern Chalukyas of Vengi : Pulakesin II's brother, Kubja Vishnu Vardhan founded a new dynasty with its capital at the ancient city of Vengi. But soon its power was exhausted and in about 10th century they allied with the Cholas but the Chola king did not maintain the alliance and annexed the kingdom in 1076 AD.

The Wester Chalukyas Western Chalukyas of Kalyani : The kingdom established by Taila II in 1973, after defeating Amoghavasha IV, the last Rashtrakuta ruler, claimd descent from the Chalukyas of Badami. The kingdom was extended uptil the southern part of Paramara kingdom of Malwa. Vikramaditya II Tribhuvanmalla (1076-1126) was the greatest ruler of this dynasty and is posed as the hero of Bilhana's Vikramanka-deva-Charita. He is founder of Vikram Samvat era.

The Cheras The Cheras : The ancient name of the Cheras is Keralas. Their Kingdom included the districts of Malabar, Travancore, Cochin etc. The Cheras had trade relations with Rome in the first century AD. The account of the Cheras of early times is found in the edicts of Ashoka, in which they have been called by the name of Kerala Putras. Sufficient historical material about the history of Keralas is not available.

The Hoyasalas The Hoyasalas : Their kingdom lay mid-way between the kingdom of the Chalukyas on the North-West and that of the Cholas on south-east. They ruled over modern Mysore and Madras. Their capital was Dwarasamudra. The credit of bringing this dynasty into prominence goes to Vishnu Vardhan. He improved political position of his kingdom by his conquests. The Chennakesava temple built by Vishnuvardhan at Belur in 1117 AD and the Hoyasaleswar temple built in 1150 AD at Haleheid are examples of Hoyasala architecture. The last king of this dynasty was Vir Balla III, who was defeated by Malik Kafur, the cheif general of Alauddin Khilji, in 1311. He deposed him from the throne and thus this, dynasty came to its end.

The Yadavas The Yadavas : The Yadavas were, at first, under the domination of the Chalukyas and the Rashtrakutas, but at the downfall of the Chalukyas, they became independent and began to gain power. They ruled over the region that stretched from Nasik to Devagiri. Thus, Khandesh territory was under their sway. Their prominent rulers were Bhillama, Simhana Ramachandra etc. Bhillama was the first important king of this dynasty. He reigned from 1187 to 1191 AD. He defeated the Hoyasalas and made Devagiri his capital. The most prominent king of this dynasty was Simhana who vanished several dynasties, such as the Hoyasalas, the Andharas etc. The last king of this dynasty was Ramachandra who dominated the whole of the region up to the river Narmada.

The Kakatiyas The Kakatiyas : In the begining, the Kakatiyas were under the control of the Chalukyas dynasty and after their downfall they asserted their independent in the territories of Telangana and Warrangal, where they established their own kingdom. Some of the prominent and important kings of this dynasty were Parolaraja, Ganpati Pratap Rudra Deo etc. Ganpati defeated the Cholas, the Yadavas and several other rulers of various families. He was the most important king of Kakatiya dynasty. In his reign, the Kakatiya rule was at the height of its power and progress. Malik Kafur invaded their kingdom in 1309 AD.

The Kadambas The Kadambas : This dynasty was founded by Brahman Maysurasarman in north Karnataka with his capital at Banavasi after defeating Satvahana. Maysursaraman was a champion of Vedic sacrifices and is reported to have performed 18 Ashvamedha sacrifices. The kingdom was annexed to the Chalukaya kingdom by Pulkesin II.

blog comments powered by Disqus

footer for presidents of India page