Current time in New Delhi -

Indian State Facts



Don't have Friends..

Looking for Partner for Movies/Party/Weekend..


About India: Capital of India is New Delhi.

India is a federal union of states comprising 29 states and 7 union territories. The states and territories are further subdivided into districts and so on.
Map of India

  • The administrative capital is where the executive government offices are located.
  • The legislative capital is where the state assembly convenes.
  • The judicial capital is the location of the state or territorial High Courts of India.
  • The date mentioned in the table refers to when the city became the capital of the state or territory
  • In the table S and W refers to the Summer and Winter sessions respectively.
  • The administrative capital is considered to be the main capital of the state.
  • In the absence of the legislative capital means that it is administered by the Central Government.

States and their Capitals
State Administrative Capital Legislative Capital Judicial Capital Since
Andhra Pradesh Hyderabad Hyderabad Hyderabad 1956
Arunachal Pradesh Itanagar Itanagar Guwahati 1972
Assam Dispur (Former Capital: Shilong(1874-1972)) Dispur Guwahati 1972
Bihar Patna Patna Patna 1936
Chhattisgarh Raipur Raipur Bilaspur 2000
Goa Panji Porvorim Mumbai 1961
Gujarat Gandhinagar(Formal Capital: Ahmedabad(1960-1970)) Gandhinagar Ahmedabad 1970
Haryana Chandigarh Chandigarh Chandigarh 1966
Himachal Pradesh Shimla Shimla Shimla 1948
Jammu and Kashmir Srinagar(S),Jammu(W) Srinagar(S),Jammu(W) Srinagar 1948
Jharkhand Ranchi Ranchi Ranchi 2000
Karnataka Bangaluru Bangaluru Bangaluru 1956
Kerala Thiruvanantha-Puram (Former Capital: Kochi(1949-1956)) T'puram Ernakulam 1956
Madhya Pradesh Bhopal Bhopal Jabalpur 1956
Maharashtra Mumbai Mumbai Mumbai 1818
Manipur Imphal Imphal Guwahati 1947
Meghalaya Shillong Shillong Guwahati 1970
Mizoram Aizwal Aizwal Guwahati 1972
Nagaland Kohima Kohima Guwahati 1963
Orrisa Bhubaneshwar (Former Capital: Cuttak (1936-1948)) Bhubaneshwar Cuttack 1948
Punjab Chandigarh (Former Capital: Lahore(1936-1947) & Shimla(1947-1966)) Chandigarh Chandigarh 1966
Rajasthan Jaipur Jaipur Jodhpur 1948
Sikkim Gangtok Gangtok Gangtok 1975
Tamil Nadu Chennai Chennai Chennai 1956
Tripura Agartala Agartala Guwahati 1956
Uttarakhand Dehradun Dehradun Nainital 2000
Uttar Pradesh Lucknow Lucknow Allahabad 1937
West Bengal Kolkata Kolkata Kolkata 1905
Union Territories
Andaman and Nicobar Islands Port Blair -- Kolkata 1956
Chandigarh Chandigarh -- Chandigarh 1966
Dadra and Nagar Haveli Silvasaa -- Mumbai 1961
Daman and Diu Daman -- Mumbai 1987
Lakshadweep Kavaratti -- Ernakulam 1956
National Capital Territory of Delhi N.Delhi -- -- --
Ponducherry Ponducherry Ponducherry Chennai 1954

blog comments powered by Disqus

footer for presidents of India page