Current time in New Delhi -

Indian Ports



Don't have Friends..

Looking for Partner for Movies/Party/Weekend..


The coastline of India is dotted with 12 Major Ports and about 200 Non-major Ports. The Major Ports are under the purview of the central while the Non-major Ports come under the jurisdiction of the respective State Governments.
The 12 Major Ports (including the Port of Ennore which is a corporate port set up under the Indian Companies Act, 1956) are evenly spread out on the Eastern and Western coast. The ports of Kolkata, Paradip, Viskhapatnam, Chennai, New Mangalore, Mormugao, Mumbai, Jawaharlal Nehru at Jhavasheva and Kandla are on the Western Coast. The capacity of major ports have increased from 20 Million Tonnes per annum (MTPA) 1951 to 504.75 as on 31st March, 2007.

blog comments powered by Disqus

footer for presidents of India page