Current time in New Delhi -

Anglo Burma Relations



Don't have Friends..

Looking for Partner for Movies/Party/Weekend..


Anglo Burma War Two Anglo Burma Wars were fought in the first half of the 19th Century.

First Anglo Burmese War (1824-26): The Burmese subjugated Assam in 1821-22 and confronted the British all along their north-east frontier. In 1824, Lord Amherst declared war on Burma which lasted for two years. The peace was conclued in 1826, when the Burmese king ceded the provinces of Arakan and Tenasserim, withdrew from Assam and recognised the Independence of Manipur. The king also agreed to admit a British envoy at his court.

Second Anglo Burmese War (1824-26): The new Burmese king Tharrawaddy, who usurped the throne in 1837, adopted an unfriendly attitude towards the British and started violating the agreements reached after the first war. In 1852, British forces under the General Godwin, reached Rangoon before storming many cities. Dalhousie himself went to Rangoon later that year and occupied Pegu or Lower Burma. Hostilities ended with the accession of king Mindon in 1853. Burma opened herself to British trade and admitted a British Resident.

blog comments powered by Disqus

footer for Facts About India