Current time in New Delhi -

Indian Defence



Don't have Friends..

Looking for Partner for Movies/Party/Weekend..


Ministry of Defence

  • The President of India is the supreme commander of the Indian defence system
  • The whole administrative control of the Armed forces lies in the Ministry of Defence
  • The Defence Minister (Raksha Mantri) is responsible to Parliament for all matters concerning defence of the country.
  • Indian defence system has been divided into three services-

    1. Army
    2. Navy
    3. Air Force


The Principal task of the Ministry of Defence is to obtain policy directions of the Government on all defence and security related matters and communicate them for implementation to the Serivce Headquarters, Inter-Service Organisations, Production Establishments and Research an Development Organisations. It is also required to ensure effective implementation of the Government's policy directions and the execution of approved programmes within the allocated resources.
>> more infomation on this

Indian Army

The Indian Army is organised into seven commands:-

Indian Army

S.No. Command Headquarter
1 Western command Chandigarh
2 Eastern command Kolkata
3 Northern command 56 APO
4 Southern command Pune
5 Central command Lucknow
6 Army Training Command Shimla
7 South Western Command Jaipur
>> more infomation on this

Indian Air Force

Indian Air Force is organised into seven commands:-

India Air Force

S.No. Command Headquarter
1 Western command New Delhi
2 Central command Allahabad
3 Eastern command Shillong
4 South western command Jodhpur
5 Training command Bangaluru
6 Maintenance command Nagpur
7 Southern command Thiruvananthapuram
>> more infomation on this

Indin Navy

Indian Navy is organised into following commands:-

Indian Navy

S.No. Command Headquarter
1 Eastern command Vishakhapatnam
2 Southern command Kochi
3 Western command Mumbai
>> more infomation on this

Indian Coast Guard

The Coast Guard is headed by a Director General. It headquarters is based in the Capital, New Delhi.
It has Indian Coast Guard

  • 3 Regional headquarters at Mumbai, Chennai and Port Blair
  • 1 District Headquarters in each of the nine coastal states and 2 in the Union territories of Andaman and Nicobar Islands and Lakshadweep Islands.
  • 4 Coast Guard Stations, one each at Vadinar, Okha, Tuticorin and Mandapam.
  • It also has aerodromes in Daman and Chennai
  • Air Enclaves at Goa, Kolkata and Port Blair.
>> more infomation on this

Recruitment in Armed Forces

The Armed Forces epitomises the ideas of service, sacrifice, patriotism and our country's comosite culture. The recruitment to the Armed Forces is voluntary and every citizen of India, irrespective of his caste, class, religion and community is eligible for recruitment into the Armed Forces provided he meets the laid donw physical, medical and educational criteria.

Recruitment of Commissioned Officers in the Armed Forces through UPSC: Commissioned Officers in the Armed Forces are recruited mainly through the UPSC which conducts the following two All India Competitive Examinations:-
  1. National Defence Academy (NDA) and Naval Academy(NA): The UPSC holds entrance examinations twice a year for entry into NDA and NA. Candidates on completion of 10+2 examinations or while in the 12th standard, are eligible to compete.
  2. Combined Defence Services Examination(CDSE): CDSE is conducted by the UPSC twice a year. University graduates are eligible to appear in the examination. Successful candidates join the Military Academy/Air Force Academy or Naval Academy for Regular and Officers Academy (OTA) for Short Service Commission.

blog comments powered by Disqus

footer for presidents of India page